Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mendeley

Mendeley Cite

Mendeley Cite allows you to quickly and easily create in-text citations and complete bibliographies in your Microsoft Word document. Mendeley Cite is compatible with Microsoft Word versions 2016 and above, the Microsoft Word app for iPad, and Microsoft Word Online.

You can use Mendeley Cite to:

  • Search for references in your Mendeley library and insert them into your Word document
  • Select and insert individual or multiple references at once
  • Create a bibliography of all the references you've cited in your Word document
  • Change citation styles directly in your Word document
Citing References in Mendeley Tutorial

This video provides an overview of Mendeley Cite in Microsoft Word, which allows you to add formatted in-text citations and bibliographies to Word documents.


 

Choosing a Citation Style

1. In Mendeley Desktop, go to "View"

2. Hover your cursor over citation style

3. Select your citation style


 

Inserting In-Text Citations

1. In your Word document, click on "References" in the toolbar

2. Select "Insert or Edit Citation"

3. Search for citation by author, title, or year

4. When the correct citation appears, click on "OK" and the in-text citation will automatically format


 

Inserting Bibliographies

After you've inserted all your citations, you can automatically create a bibliography that includes every reference you cited in your document.

1. In your Word document, click on "References" in the toolbar

2. Select "Insert Bibliography"