Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases with News Publications
Contains major news and trade publications, including Wall Street Journal
Business Source Complete
Business magazines and newspapers including Economist, BusinessWeek, Harvard Business Review, Forbes, Fortune, and many more
Business news resources such as New York Times, Financial Times, Consumer Reports, etc.
Contains South Carolina newspapers among others
Market & Industry
The databases below contain a multitude of data on companies, with some of the most useful and unique highlights related to industry research noted below.
Mintel Reports Database
*Industry reports--narrowed to specifics within industry and geography; give breakdown of market issues, drivers, strengths & weaknesses
*Market data--channels to market, segment performance, consumer usage & barriers, and more
*Company Profiles (limited information)
Great US and China coverage; Search by company or industry
*Industry Market Research contain:
-Competitive Landscape--Market share, key success factors, etc.
*Market Research Reports
*Industry, Consumer and Country data
INDUSTRIES--use the Quick Analysis Finder to access Country reports, Company profiles, Global reports, Latest News all by industry
COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS--view consumer trends, lifestyles, and other information (past & forecasted) by country Note: always have to select "Accept" on first screen
From home page, select INDUSTRIES tab and use a keyword search or select "Browse Hoover's Industries"
Contains great information for:
*Trends and Opportunities
SRDS Media Solutions
Provides information for different advertising media (ad rates, circulation, market analysis, and more). The Claritas 360 module provides data on lifestyles, interests, and hobbies within specific geographic and demographic markets as well as PRIZM segmentation reports.
Find total expenditures for advertising by company, industry, and brand/product category. Limited users at one time. Click *Logout* when you are done with your session.
Business Source Complete
Narrow your search by selecting "Industry Profile" under Publication Type in Advanced Search
*Contains Barnes Reports, Marketline/Datamonitor Reports, Business Monitor Reports, among others (Note: you can also use these publications in your keyword searches)
*Industry Reports--Short summaries of current environment, industry profile, market trends and outlook, and country profiles
FIND: Select Report Search tab at top-->select Industry Reports-->search by industry, country, or region
*Country Profile reports may help with country comparison (Note: link is on front page on right)
Gale Directory Library
*Market Share Reporter*
contains market share information for companies and brands
Fitch Connect (previously Business Monitor)
*Industry Forecast Reports contain:
*Global Company Strategy for certain industries
*Country Risk--includes strategies, macroeconomic indicators, and Risk/Reward Ratings
Use the Companies/Markets tab to find sub-categories for Industry information and market charting tools
*Contains major news and trade publications, including Wall Street Journal
Additional Research Guides
*Must access on campus*
Limited to 5 users, so please log out when finished.
-Agency Database: profiles ~13,500 advertising agencies
-Advertiser Database: info on >24,000 companies that spend more than 200k/yr on advertising